The Widow (Fiona Barton)

image

When the police started asking questions, Jean Taylor turned into a different woman. One who enabled her and her husband to carry on, when more bad things began to happen…

But that woman’s husband died last week. And Jean doesn’t have to be her anymore.

There’s a lot Jean hasn’t said over the years about the crime her husband was suspected of committing. She was too busy being the perfect wife, standing by her man while living with the accusing glares and the anonymous harassment.

Now there’s no reason to stay quiet. There are people who want to hear her story. They want to know what it was like living with that man. She can tell them that there were secrets. There always are in a marriage.

The truth—that’s all anyone wants. But the one lesson Jean has learned in the last few years is that she can make people believe anything…

 

REDUNDANT REDUNDANT
REDUNDANT REDUNDANT
REDUNDANT REDUNDANT 

Did you find that annoying? If you said yes, then this book is not for you because the repetition and the redundancy is absolutely ridiculous. The whole time I was reading I kept thinking to myself “GET ON WITH IT ALREADY!”

image

Here’s the thing: there are no plot twists in this book. If something is going to happen, you will guess it. If a character is going to do something, you will guess it. There is no suspense in this book whatsoever. In fact, I laughed at the characters. They were laughable. The story line was all over the place. Here then there then up then down. It was just very sloppy and scattered and not even in a way that benefitted you.

I felt no connection to any of the characters. Even though we are given different POVs I just felt…blah. Like I didn’t belong with this book and I needed more. I guess maybe if I liked incessant flashbacks I would have clicked more with the book as a whole but nope.

image

This books gets two stars only because I finished it. Stop comparing it to Gone Girl. You need to compare it to Girl on the Train because that one and The Widow were both disasters. I’ve never been so happy to finish a book. TOODLES.

Leave a Reply

