Totaled (Stacey Grice)

image

Bree Murphy is stuck. Forced to grow up too fast after the tragic death of her mother, she has little time for any sort of life for herself. Now in her early twenties, she is coming to the realization that she deserves to put herself first.

Drew Dougherty is also stuck, in a state of merely existing. Memories and secrets of the day he lost both of his parents haunt him, forcing him to cope the only way he knows how…by fighting.

When these two worlds collide, hidden truths are revealed and relationships are put to the ultimate test. At a crossroad in their lives, they must decide if taking a risk is worth everything.

Or will their love be…

Totaled.

This one was just like any other debut author’s book, well in my opinion of course. I made a note on GR that me, as a reader, would have really loved this book two years ago but now while reading it I just notice how much detail there is about things that aren’t even important or do the story no justice.

BUT IT WASN’T BAD! And there wasn’t insta-love which is a definite plus for me!

image

The thing is, the first 60% of the book was slow. Not painfully slow though. Just too many descriptions and details and internal dialogue than I cared to read about. I couldn’t even decipher anything for myself due to never ending descriptions and all telling internal thoughts from the author.

One of my pet peeves, however was with the secondary character, Sue. She wasn’t very supportive of Bree and her facetiousness was off the charts which in turn left a very bad taste in my mouth. I felt like her role wasn’t justified in this book so I’m hoping for some redemption in the next one.

For as slow as the first part of the book was, it was still a quick read for me. The story line was just strong enough to keep my interest piqued and I’ll be sure to check out the next book to see how well the author has grown since this one.

image

The ending was when I finally started getting interested. I am already semi-invested with these two characters and then the way I am left feeling at the end just completely blows my mind. So I’ll definitely be checking out the next one to see how everything pans out.

 

Leave a Reply

