Jake Undone (Penelope Ward)

image

Nina Kennedy was alive…but not living…until she met him.

Planes, trains, heights…you name it, Nina was afraid of it and led a sheltered life ruled by irrational fears and phobias. When she moves to Brooklyn for nursing school, that life is turned upside down, as she develops an intense but unwanted attraction to her gorgeous roommate, who’s pierced, tattooed and just happens to be the smartest person she’s ever met.

Behind Jake Green’s rough exterior and devilish smile, lies a heart of gold. He makes it his mission to change Nina’s outlook on life. When he agrees to tutor her, they forge a bet and the stakes are high as Jake forces Nina to face her demons. He just wasn’t expecting to fall hard for her in the process.

What Nina doesn’t realize, is that Jake has been living his own private hell. Once he drops a bombshell, will their love survive it?

Told in two parts from both Nina and Jake’s points of view, Jake Undone is a standalone story and a companion to the novel, Gemini. 

I feel like Penelope writes some of the best angst I have read because I feel like I have been through hell and back with Jake and Nina. I really enjoyed this read. I loved Stepbrother Dearest and Gemini. I’m beginning to think she doesn’t write a bad book. Jake Undone was similar to Tammara Webber’s Easy but in a way it wasn’t. I hope that makes sense.

Here’s a fun fact about myself: I love the broody, punk rocker, tats and piercing guys. Especially in books. I don’t know what it is, but it definitely works for me. So naturally, this book worked for me.

image

Not only did Jake have me undone but the characters and the secondary characters had me undone too. The supporting characters play a huge part in this book and the author did a wonderful job at making sure they didn’t just “exist” in the story.

The plot twist? I might have guessed something along the lines of it but I never guessed what really happened. Boy was I ever wrong..

The first part of the book is told through Nina’s POV. The second part is Jake. Jake’s POV rocked my world. I don’t think I have ever read a male POV so well executed.

Anyways, I could go on and on but all kidding aside this book was engaging from page one until the end of the story.

image

And HELLO. All of the angst you can imagine. So much you can pick it up and put in your purse and carry it with you and hug it and love it and okay, you get the point.

Leave a Reply

