Author Anonymous (EK Blair)

image

A TRUE STORY told through the voice of New York Times Bestselling author E.K. Blair.

She’s an author.
She’s a mother.
She’s a wife.
She’s a fraud.

A woman marked and bound by her own deceit, this is the astounding tale of how one choice knocked her world from its axis forcing her to battle through a year of scandal and betrayal, blurring the lines between reality and fantasy.

This is an intoxicatingly risqué stand-alone true story tangled in lust, heartbreak, and contrition.


I am not even quite sure where to start with this so I am going to try my best. I understand that this is someone’s story and I understand that they confided in EK Blair to put these words into a story and I respect that, absolutely I do but that doesn’t mean I understand it or the story line of the book.

image

I am all over the place with Author Anonymous. These type of books are usually a hit or miss for me. I have read some really good ones and I have read some disappointing ones. I can’t seem to ever enjoy the ones where the heroine has no rhyme or reason as to why she does what she does. I can’t ever come up with any justification or reason why she would do the things that she does in this story and as readers I feel like the author needs to make us feel for that main character. But I didn’t. I felt for Landon… I felt for Brooke… but I felt nothing for the main character in the book and to me that was a huge let down.

Books like this one and the subject matter that the author touches on is very hard for me to hop on board with. With me saying that I want to clarify. I am not saying EK didn’t write her heart out on this one because she did as well as the heart of another individual but I just wasn’t emotionally invested in it. My level of empathy for Tori was actually below E. And when you can’t connect to the story line or the character it’s really hard to enjoy the book.

This is 2/2 that EK Blair has let me down with her endings. I felt like this ending was just left way too wide open. Maybe that was her point but for me as a reader I was just left with frustration as to why Tori did what she did. AGAIN. And it’s a standalone? UGH.

image

I really wish I could go into more detail about the things that I had a hard time with during this book but I feel like that would take away from other readers and I never want to do that. I hope every one reads this book for themselves because I love to see the different opinions on topics such as this one. I just felt like this was another book that made me want to scream at the characters to COMMUNICATE.

 

Leave a Reply

