Fear of Falling (S. L. Jennings)

image

I can’t remember the last time I felt completely safe. Security seemed more like a luxury to me, reserved for those who were fortunate enough to have picture perfect childhoods. For those who didn’t bear the ugly scars that keep me bound in constant, debilitating fear. I’ve run from that fear my entire life. But when I met him, for once, I couldn’t run anymore.

He scared the hell out of me in a way that excited every fiber of my being. It wasn’t the tattoos or the piercings. It wasn’t the warmth that seemed to radiate from his frame and blanket me whenever he was near. It was just…him. The scary beautiful man that threatened to alter 23 years of routine and rituals, and make me face my crippling fear.

My name is Kami and I am constantly afraid. And the thing that scares me the most is the very thing I want.


Im just going to be honest: the books that are gritty, emotional, dark, angsty, disturbing, whatever else you can think of are my all time most favorite things to read in this world. And this one was pretty raw.

image

First I need to clear the air and make it known that Blaine Jacobs has moved into one of my all time favorite book boyfriend slots. Blaine was a solid fucking character (excuse my language) and he was just SWOON. Well wrote. Well played. And we’ll developed. (Because duh, he grew too. Not only Kami.) Okay, let’s move on.

I feel like I’ve been sucker punched. How can something so good hurt so bad? I don’t know either but I like it. It never gets old to me. Call me a glutton for punishment. Masochist. Whatever. I love it. And when you have good writing and well developed characters it adds the icing to the already yummy cake you’re devouring.

There is a lot of back and forth going on in this book but it wasn’t enough to discourage or disconnect me from the storyline or the characters. It just helped with the emotional roller coaster that was developing inside of me and ALL OF THE ANGST.

image

My only complaint is the epilogue. I was frustrated because they could take this story so much further but ugh. I’m just left wanting more with none to actually take.

This story is emotional. You will feel some sort of pain and you will feel Kami’s pain. But not just Kami’s. You’ll feel Blake’s, Dom’s, Angel’s. All of them. And that’s what made this book so good. To me, it wasn’t centered on just Kami but every one around her. How they mold and grow and shape to help not only her but each other.

Leave a Reply

