Break My Heart (Esther M Soto)

image

Ileana Harper is focused on her future with Tommy Colton, the man she fought so hard to get back to, but not everything is at it seems. Unable to confide in Tommy, Ileana holds tight to her last shred of sanity, struggling with inner demons that could jeopardize their relationship and her career with the FBI. Through it all, Ileana is intent on moving onward and never looking back.

Too bad the past won’t stay in the past.

Tommy Colton’s love for Ileana Harper kept hope for her safe return alive in his heart. Now, with Ileana by his side and his new job as a DEA agent, Tommy’s life is finally complete — until a stranger appears, threatening to destroy their bond and tear them apart.

Once again, Tommy might lose Ileana; perhaps this time forever.

They say love conquers all…but sometimes fate has other plans.
What if the past becomes our future?

I have waited and waited and waited for this book. Patiently. Not so patiently. I’ve WAITED.

image

The first 30%…SLOW. It was. I wanted to skim and get to all of the good and juicy stuff. I wanted to get to more Will and less Tommy. But I didn’t rush through it and I’m so happy that I didn’t. That slow build up in the beginning was worth it because once you hit around 45% the story takes off and from there you won’t want to put the book down.

So, luckily Break My Heart picks up just a little bit before where Hold My Heart leaves off. I’ll admit, I was disappointed about the way some of things turned out, especially with certain characters and I did notice that when I finished the book there was some open plot holes that made me wonder if a third installment will be added, just to answer some of the unanswered questions I had.

Yo let me add this too: there’s a ton of sex in this one but DON’T WORRY! The scenes were perfectly written and not dramatic or over done and no gross words were used to describe any body organ or any certain “action” so A+ I my grade book.

image

I struggled understanding the way Tommy and Harper’s relationship was building in the beginning of the story and in what direction it was going but I feel like by 80% the author made me a huge understanding Tommy fan and to me that’s important because in book one, he wasn’t my pick. So knowing that Tommy was so well written especially enough for me to start developing an attachment to him, I’m happy. That makes me happy.

image

Like I said at the beginning: I have been waiting for this book. For almost two years. And Esther executed the conclusion to a wonderful two part series. The writing, the plot, the twists, they all came together and made my wait worth it. Great writing and story telling takes time and Esther can make me wait as long as she wants to every time. I’ll be here. Waiting.

4 thoughts on “Break My Heart (Esther M Soto)

Leave a Reply

