The Good Girl (Mary Kubica)

image

“I’ve been following her for the past few days. I know where she buys her groceries, where she works. I don’t know the color of her eyes or what they look like when she’s scared. But I will.”

One night, Mia Dennett enters a bar to meet her on-again, off-again boyfriend. But when he doesn’t show, she unwisely leaves with an enigmatic stranger. At first Colin Thatcher seems like a safe one-night stand. But following Colin home will turn out to be the worst mistake of Mia’s life.

When Colin decides to hide Mia in a secluded cabin in rural Minnesota instead of delivering her to his employers, Mia’s mother, Eve, and detective Gabe Hoffman will stop at nothing to find them. But no one could have predicted the emotional entanglements that eventually cause this family’s world to shatter.

An addictively suspenseful and tautly written thriller, The Good Girl is a propulsive debut that reveals how even in the perfect family, nothing is as it seems.

Stockholm syndrome. You either hate it or love it. Period. (And no that’s not a spoiler. If you read the blurb you’ll assume it.) But yet, I always love it. It’s like I’m a sucker for it. Drawn to it. Captivated by it. (Pun intended)

image

For a debut novel I’m very impressed. Genuinely. And for the twist I can honestly say I didn’t guess it. What is that line, “I DIDNT SEE THAT COMING!” I wouldnt consider The Good Girl “suspense” though but it was definitely twisty. It was more a “character study” book. How well you focus and depict people.

The POV’s were wonderful and definitely a strong point of The Good Girl. You had Gabe’s POV, Eve’s POV, and Colin Thatcher POV. All of which were greatly executed. They were told in “before” and “after”-s but it told the story so much more smoothly. I feel like it was almost better off to be told the way the author wrote it. I don’t think I would have liked it the same if it was told “in order”.

image

My pet peeve here recently though? STOP saying every single book is “the next Gone Girl”. Personally, I didn’t like Gone Girl. I liked this one. So let’s stop with that. Thanks.

So, to sum up my feelings, this book was a plethora of intelligent plotting, strategically placed clues, a “bad guy” you can’t help but swoon over, and some emotional moments that made me glad to be reading outside of the modern day romance genre. I’m glad I took a break from my usual books to read this one.

Leave a Reply

