Kyland (Mia Sheridan)

image

Dirt poor. Hillbilly. Backwoods hick. Mountain folk.

Tenleigh Falyn struggles each day to survive in a small, poverty-stricken, coal mining town where she lives with her sister and mentally ill mother. Her dream of winning the college scholarship given to one student by the local coal company and escaping the harshness of her life, keeps her going.

Kyland Barrett lives in the hills, too, and has worked tirelessly—through near starvation, through deep loneliness, against all odds—to win the Tyton Coal Scholarship and leave the town that is full of so much pain.

They’re both determined not to form any attachments, but one moment changes everything. What happens when only one person gets to win? When only one person gets to leave? And what happens to the one left behind?

ALL OF THE LAVENDER.

Two very important things here to begin with:

A N G S T
F R I E N D S-TO-L O V E R S

I’m being very serious about the angst by the way. That hollow feeling in my gut? It was painful. I was so frustrated with part of this book but at the same time I was swooning. Majorly. I was yearning for some release of my emotions. Something. But I didn’t cry. I groaned and yelled though. Oh my god, FEELINGS!

image

“I had thought once, that I had lost myself because of love. But the opposite was true. I’d found myself when I’d given my heart to Tenleigh, found what was important to me, what really mattered.”

Nothing about this story was rushed or skimmed over in any way, shape, or form by me as a reader. In fact, every aspect of the relationship that slowly formed between Tenleigh and Kyland was given equal care, giving me the opportunity to get to know them and understand them and feel so many stupid emotions in your stupid sappy heart.

One of the cool parts of Kyland was the dual POV. Kyland’s and Tenleigh’s (I love that name by the way). I had a bunch of conflicting feelings in the beginning towards Kyland and how shady he was but that SOB grew on me. I wanted him around all of the time. I wanted to keep reading about him.

“I do go to hell. Every day. For you.”

Shut the front door Kyland and take my broken, tiny, miserable heart with you.

image

The REAL question here is this: does Mia Sheridan write a bad book? So far…no. She doesn’t.

So, there we have it. Another fantastic read for me. Kyland is a book that drowns you in all of its heartache just as much as it blinds you with all of its wonderful beauty. The inner strength and the dynamic nature and drive of these characters is what made this story so compelling. Mia made it to where you just can’t help but fall in love with Tenleigh and Kyland from the get go and travel this tension filled journey with them. And maybe throw your kindle…I wouldn’t know…maybe.

image

One thought on “Kyland (Mia Sheridan)

Leave a Reply

