The Silent Waters (Brittainy Cherry)

image

Moments.

Our lives are a collection of moments. Some utterly painful and full of yesterday’s hurts. Some beautifully hopeful and full of tomorrow’s promises.

I’ve had many moments in my lifetime, moments that changed me, challenged me. Moments that scared me and engulfed me. However, the biggest ones—the most heartbreaking and breathtaking ones—all included him.

I was eight years old when I lost my voice. A piece of me was stolen away, and the only person who could truly hear my silence was Brooks Griffin. He was the light during my dark days, the promise of tomorrow, until tragedy found him. Tragedy that eventually drowned him in a sea of memories.

This is the story of a boy and girl who loved each other, but didn’t love themselves. A story of life and death. Of love and broken promises.

Of moments.


No, Brittainy. The world keeps spinning because YOUR heartbeats exist. Your books exist. You exist.

image

Life is all about moments. Well, I had a lot of “moments” with this book. Big moments, little moments, meh moments, aggravating moments, and some very hard-to-grasp moments. Basically, this book is a book chalk full of you guessed it, moments. Ones that really make you appreciate the kind of author that Brittainy Cherry really is. How far out of the “norm” her books are. Moments that make you appreciate every minute of anger or sadness you felt towards a character and/or a situation was actually completely worth it all in the end.

“A person never reads an outstanding book twice and walks away with the same beliefs. An outstanding book always surprises you, and awakens you to new ideas, new ways of looking at the world, no matter how many times the words have been read.”

There’s nothing better than a book that makes us feel. Isn’t that what we are all wanting when we pick a book up? We want that raw, vulnerability to the characters and the plot that the author crafts for us. I got that with The Silent Waters. That’s why I read. For those feelings. Duh.

image

With this book, I have learned that it is possible to love a book despite having mixed feelings about one of the characters. And that’s okay. Brittainy writes in an extraordinary way that moves you and changes you. A character you might have hated at the beginning will end up being one of your favorites. Like, at one part my eyes actually got glossy. I swear she is the only person who gets me all choked up. It’s so rude.

“Love didn’t come with guidelines. It flowed into a person with only hope as its current. There wasn’t a list of rules to follow, making sure you cared for it correctly. It didn’t give you instructions to keep it pure. It simply showed up quietly, praying you wouldn’t let it slip away.”

I wanted to touch on the characters in the book in this review for sure. Mainly because they were a huge part of this story. Another great thing about Brittainy is she always has these characters that aren’t shallow like a shower. They’re deep. They support the main characters and help them not only with their growths but with their inner troubles. And they aren’t forgotten at the end of the story. Their progress is just as important as the main characters. And that’s special to me.

So if you want the escape, this is perfect. I’m serious. I rambled a lot but I’m being dead serious when I say if you want to just escape for a while in a world where there is love, friendship, struggle, hurt, and growth, one click it. Buy it. Tell Brittainy you love it. She loves it when you yell at her for making you have feelings.

image

Leave a Reply

