We Need To Talk About Kevin (Lionel Shiver)

img_0838
The gripping international bestseller about motherhood gone awry.

Eva never really wanted to be a mother – and certainly not the mother of the unlovable boy who murdered seven of his fellow high school students, a cafeteria worker, and a much-adored teacher who tried to befriend him, all two days before his sixteenth birthday. Now, two years later, it is time for her to come to terms with marriage, career, family, parenthood, and Kevin’s horrific rampage in a series of startlingly direct correspondences with her estranged husband, Franklin. Uneasy with the sacrifices and social demotion of motherhood from the start, Eva fears that her alarming dislike for her own son may be responsible for driving him so nihilistically off the rails.


I’m very blown away right. What a challenging and very uncomfortable read. It actually took me a while to read and process due to the subject matter and the things that happened throughout this book. I was just so….uncomfortable.

img_0841

Now. Give me the movie.

Okay for real. We need to talk about the character that which is Kevin. The thing with this book is I cannot pin point where just one character went wrong. Sure the mom might have been a very distant mother but Kevin? He stood out to me more. He was dynamic and daring and challenging and he put his mother through hell. But yet, she put him through hell. It was a very tedious back and forth of game of push and pull. Franklin? I can’t think of a single good thing to say about him. He is what they call “turning the other eye” at your children. Enabling. He was such an unattractive character to me.

img_0839

Is it the parents? The child? Society?

The ending? It took me by complete surprise. After I finished I googled the ending of the movie and it gave the same amount of feels. I can’t grasp it or put it into words. It was just so…mind blowing. Most of the reviews I have read have stated the same thing. It too them and extensive amount of time to read this book as a whole and I get it. I get that. As a parent I get it. It’s hard.

Like I said, I have mixed feelings still. The writing wasn’t “outstanding” but the story line kept me hanging by a thread long enough to trudge through this gritty and disturbing book. So for that, I applaud the author. I feel like I have been educated on what creates and ignites (non-scientifically of course) a sociopath. Or psychopath. However you want to look at it.

img_0840

Leave a Reply

