I’m Thinking of Ending Things (Iain Reid)

img_1194

You will be scared. But you won’t know why…

I’m thinking of ending things. Once this thought arrives, it stays. It sticks. It lingers. It’s always there. Always.

Jake once said, “Sometimes a thought is closer to truth, to reality, than an action. You can say anything, you can do anything, but you can’t fake a thought.”

And here’s what I’m thinking: I don’t want to be here.

In this smart, suspenseful, and intense literary thriller, debut novelist Iain Reid explores the depths of the human psyche, questioning consciousness, free will, the value of relationships, fear, and the limitations of solitude. Reminiscent of Jose Saramago’s early work, Michel Faber’s cult classic Under the Skin, and Lionel Shriver’s We Need to Talk about Kevin, I’m Thinking of Ending Things is an edgy, haunting debut. Tense, gripping, and atmospheric, this novel pulls you in from the very first page…and never lets you go.


I am just blown away right now. In complete shock. Confused. Creeped out. Googling discussion groups. I’m not even sure what I just read to be completely honest with you all.

img_1197

But it was BRILLIANT. It was spectacular. The writing was off the CHAINS! I don’t even care if no one says that phrase anymore. The unreliable narrator was my absolute favorite that I have read in quite some time. Do I trust Jake? The “girlfriend”? I don’t know! But I love it!

My anxiety was unreal the whole time. My heart was kind of beating fast and I was holding my breath there for a while. I literally had no idea what was going to happen. None. I drove myself BONKERS trying to figure out what was going on. Back and forth. Back and forth.

This book makes you question everything. Reality, human connection, relationships, personalities, humans in general. ITS SO SHORT! HOW DID THIS HAPPEN? Words. All of the words. So much story for such a short book.

img_1198

The authors descriptions. The settings. Feelings. All of it was just so overwhelming.

I’m just gonna be really honest. I’m speechless right now. I’m completely blown away. Pick up the book and read it. Then come sit in my corner and rock with me, baby.

“You can’t fake a thought.”

One thought on “I’m Thinking of Ending Things (Iain Reid)

Leave a Reply

