Behind Closed Doors (B. A. Paris)

img_1533

Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace: he has looks and wealth, she has charm and elegance. You’d like to get to know Grace better. But it’s difficult, because you realize Jack and Grace are never apart. Some might call this true love.

Picture this: a dinner party at their perfect home, the conversation and wine flowing. They appear to be in their element while entertaining. And Grace’s friends are eager to reciprocate with lunch the following week. Grace wants to go, but knows she never will. Her friends call—so why doesn’t Grace ever answer the phone? And how can she cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim?

And why are there bars on one of the bedroom windows?

The perfect marriage? Or the perfect lie?


Oh look. Another book I fell victim to because of HYPE. And oh look! Another book that is being compared to Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train…but alas! This one was better. Even with my three star rating it was way better. However, it’s very obvious this was the authors debut novel.

img_1535

I did semi-enjoy this book. I actually read it in about 6 hours. I just had really high expectations that just weren’t executed to my liking I guess you could say. I feel like all of the appeal and hype for this book lies in the action NOT the “suspense”. Because spoiler alert! There was no suspense.

You find out who the “villain” is within the first 10% of the book so that was kind of lame and it drained all of the suspense this book raved about or even hoped for. The writing was okay but what drove me nuts was the “past” and “present” POV’s. They were not even relevant to the structure of the story and I feel like the book could have all been told in “present” time. It was just sloppy, repetitive, and all over the place. Literally.

img_1536

I LOVED THE ENDING THOUGH. Esther totally pulled through and I just got goosebumps when I finished.

I really feel like this book is the definition of not really “enjoying” a book but still not being able to put it down. But I do feel like it would have been more suited for an over dramatic Lifetime movie with cheesy characters rather than a book.

Leave a Reply

