Imposter (K. Larsen)

img_1645

In idyllic Brunswick, Maine, a tragedy strikes, leaving one family struggling to stay together.

7 year old Sophie Anderson vanished from a neighbors front lawn in 2006 leaving the Anderson family reeling. Helen, a mother who never gave up hope.
Sam, a father who couldn’t cope. Cora, the even keeled sister and Shane, the angry half brother fought to maintain their family after losing Sophie.

Just when the Anderson’s thought they had moved past Sophie’s disappearance,
Cora finds Sophie shivering behind a dumpster in Portland, Maine 10 years later.

As Sophie integrates back into her family home a series of dark revelations rear their ugly heads leaving you wondering… is anyone who you think they are? 

It’s just….it’s not a Jezebel. Which is a bummer. But I can deal. I can handle it!

img_1646

Larsen has a talent for writing. It’s unnerving. She develops great plots and story lines and her characters are always so diverse and real. I just couldn’t grasp the concept of this one.

A big thing for me: I’m really annoyed at the fact that almost every chapter started in first person but then randomly changed to third person. “Today I walked down to blah blah and I seen blah blah” “…but she didn’t know who she ran into to. She didn’t know what would happen.” Stuff like that. Stuff that should have been caught. Stuff that makes my eye twitch.

img_1647

There’s no huge “twist” or shock factor in Imposter because the way the chapters are structured, the title of the book, and the way the story is told you pick up on everything from the start. But it’s almost a compliment? Larsen wrote such realistic characters that you could see their predictability a mile away. Like when you see a chapter called “Ava” it’s obvious who she is. Or when you see one labeled “Cora” it’s obvious who she is. It was just all predictable. And that’s not necessarily a bad thing! It just takes some of the suspense out of it.

I’m also frustrated with the fact that we don’t get anything from Shane’s perspective. Even at the end. Nothing. We don’t get anything regarding him. I feel like we could have gotten a little of something regarding him. I’m irritated with the fact that people hid things for TEN YEARS and went about their lives like it was just a typical day. I don’t know, that just really disturbed me.

img_1648

Basically, I love K. Larsen. I love her books, I loved Jezebel, and I love her writing style. She’s artistically different and I’ll probably continue reading everything she puts out. But this one just wasn’t all I was hoping it would be.

Leave a Reply

