Before I Go To Sleep (S. J. Watkins)

img_2031

As I sleep, my mind will erase everything I did today. I will wake up tomorrow as I did this morning. Thinking I’m still a child, thinking I have a whole lifetime of choice ahead of me…

Memories define us. So what if you lost yours every time you went to sleep? Your name, your identity, your past, even the people you love–all forgotten overnight. And the one person you trust may only be telling you half the story.

Welcome to Christine’s life  

Wow! Great read. I thoroughly enjoyed this one. Actually, it was a very riveting read. For a debut author and novel, I am so impressed.

img_2034

Here are my two cons: 50%…BORING. Christ, I lost my momentum and I basically just wanted a nap. Okay, so I did stop there and take a nap but that is besides the point. Once I hit 75% I was ready to rock on again. Sadly, the ending didn’t please me in the way I was hoping it would but all in all it was a very enjoyable read.

Christine was such a complex and interesting character. Her POV got me through this entire book. Every bit of it. It was fascinating the way she navigated through her days. How she navigated. What she did and what she thought. She was so thought provoking for me as a reader and constantly kept me on my toes. Was she reliable? WHO is reliable? What is going to happen now? What will happen if she does THAT?

img_2033

The narrative was my absolute most favorite thing about this entire book. It was infused with Christine’s fear, confusion, and panic as she pieced through the days of her life, past and present. Her memory makes her extremely vulnerable but nonetheless she is a very strong character. A smart character.

The complexity of Before I Go To Sleep was just brilliant. I’m very happy I picked this one up. Four solid stars.

Leave a Reply

