This is Where it Ends (Marieke Nijkamp)

img_2236

10:00 a.m. The principal of Opportunity High School finishes her speech, welcoming the entire student body to a new semester and encouraging them to excel and achieve.

10:02 a.m. The students get up to leave the auditorium for their next class.

10:03 a.m. The auditorium doors won’t open.

10:05 a.m. Someone starts shooting.

Told from four different perspectives over the span of fifty-four harrowing minutes, terror reigns as one student’s calculated revenge turns into the ultimate game of survival.

* two stars only because the cover is wonderful.

Thoroughly disappointed. Thankful I checked out the book from my local library rather than purchasing it. I am just feeling…MEH.

Let us begin, shall we?

img_2237

The whole time during this book I felt like I was trapped in that One Tree Hill episode. You know, the one where Jimmy shoots the school up and all of the characters are trapped in there and we experience the shooting through each of their perspectives. Yeah, this book was just like that. I was just more emotional and connected to the One Tree Hill version though. (If this is a spoiler for you I am offended. Every one should have watched OTH especially this episode.)

This book takes place over the duration of an hour. One single hour. But it felt like I was trapped with them in that school auditorium for much longer. I think it felt that way because the author went back and forth with POV’s way too frequently and at one point all of the characters literally ran together for me. I couldn’t keep anybody’s stories or characteristics or relationships straight. I kept having to go back and look. I should have just drawn a diagram. Or put the book down.

img_2238

Also I feel like I need to add, you get roughly three minutes in each characters POV back and forth back and forth. But it’s three minutes full of pointless flashbacks that have NOTHING to do with the story on hand (except for maybe three things) and it’s rather exhausting.

Let me just point out that there is one huge plot hole that you will never ever get an answer to. “What did Tyler do to you?” HELLO! AUTHOR! COME ON! WHAT DID HE DO? Frustrating.

img_2240

I am disappointed because the author just throws in a character, puts a gun in his hand, and makes him shoot up a school. But WHY does he do it? What drove him? What did it take for him or her to just…”snap”? There is never a detailed trip down memory lane or even the shooters POV for at least 5 minutes for us to see what happened and what led him down the path he chose. That’s annoying.

The “live tweeting” was completely annoying and unnecessary to me. “Oh no! A shooter! Let me grab my phone so I can tweet this on Twitter.” No. Just stop. I don’t think it should even have been put in the book at all.

The story was just way too undeveloped for my taste. I am not saying that it needed more detail or descriptions but it needed a message. There was no message portrayed to the reader. I feel like with a subject this drastic it needed to have LESS drama and more impact. More…meaning. I’m glad it didn’t take me long to get through this one. I feel like I might have DNF it.

Leave a Reply

