Up in the Treehouse (K. K. Allen)

img_2469

I wanted to tell him all my secrets, but he became one of them instead.

Chloe Rivers never thought she would keep secrets from her best friend. Then again, she never imagined she would fall in love with him either. When she finally reveals her feelings, rejection shatters her, rendering her vulnerable and sending her straight into the destructive arms of the wrong guy.

Gavin Rhodes never saw the betrayal coming. It crushes him. Chloe has always been his forbidden fantasy–sweet, tempting, and beautiful. But when the opportunity finally presents itself, he makes the biggest mistake of all and denies her.

Now it’s too late . . .

Four years after a devastating tragedy, Chloe and Gavin find themselves crashing back into each other’s lives. Haunted by the past, they’re forced to come to terms with all that has transpired to find the peace they deserve. Except they can’t seem to get near each other without combatting an intense emotional connection that brings them right back to where it all started . . . their childhood treehouse.

Chloe still holds her secrets close, but this time she isn’t the only one with something to hide. Can their deep-rooted connection survive the destruction of innocence?

I haven’t dove back into a “romance” in a while but when a friend of mine recommended this one I jumped right back into it.

And it was AWESOME.

And it was ANGSTY.

And it reminded me of all of the reasons why I love contemporary romance and that I do enjoy reading it.

img_2466

The storyline in Up in a Treehouse was just adorable. But the friends to lover hook sealed the deal for me. Because that means, yep you guessed it! NO INSTALOVE! *throws confetti*

img_2467

All kidding aside, the whole structure of the book was magnificent and well built. From the alternating POV’s, the wonderful use of flashbacks, and the added bonuses of the journal entries you were sure to stay in the loop continually. Never wandering or straying from any element in the story.

Secondary characters mean the entire world to me and let me just say, there are some great ones in this book. But no one tops Monica. The one I thought I would hate the most. She was so wise beyond her years and a positive staple to the whole story. The characters in Up in a Treehouse were just fantastic. I could gush about them for hours.

For a fun romance with complex and flawed and wonderfully crafted characters you will want to pick this book up. I know that if I had the time, I would have read this in one setting. The palpable chemistry built between two people was just beautiful.

img_2468

But, it wasn’t just a book about love and blah blah blah. It actually portrayed messages that needed to be heard. It wasn’t cheesy. It wasn’t boring. It’s what we as readers need. I’m glad I read this, I hope you are too!

Leave a Reply

