We Were Liars (E. Lockhart)

img_2599

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from New York Times bestselling author, National Book Award finalist, and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

Read it.

And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

I really want to five star this. I really REALLY want to. I’m completely satisfied as a reader but I just can’t pinpoint one reason as to why I am not giving this five stars. That’s strange to me. But this is a really big four star review for me nonetheless and definitely a book I would love to recommend to anyone whether you are a new found reader or an “old timer” looking for something different.

I. Devoured. It.

img_2601

I haven’t enjoyed a YA like this one in a very long time and that is incredible to me. Mainly because I don’t typically sway towards YA books. There is just something about the writing that I can’t latch onto. BUT I think the main reason I enjoyed We Were Liars so much was because of the writing. I LOVED the writing. It was descriptive but not too descriptive. It gave us just what we needed to make us feel like we were actually in the story. Not to mention the prose was beautiful.

I wasn’t connected to any of the characters but the gripping story and tone of the book kept me connected to the story as an entirety. For me it was the mystery. It was the unreliable narrator (which is one of my favorite things about reading). And the biggest shock to me about this book was just when I thought I didn’t care about the Liars, I did. I really truly did. And I was shocked.

img_2600

I like reading books that aren’t predictable. I don’t like knowing what is going to happen or what story line it is going to fall into. And I like reading books that have incredible endings and We Were Liars just falls into all of those categories for me.

If you read this book: go in blind. Just do it. It is the best thing that I could have done. No reviews. No blurbs. Nothing. If you liked Courtney Cole’s Nocte trilogy you are going to devour this book. Happy reading all!

Leave a Reply

