Dark House (Experiment in Terror #1) Karina Halle

img_2932

There’s always been something a bit off about Perry Palomino. Though she’s been dealing with a quarter-life crisis and post-college syndrome like any other twenty-something, she’s still not what you would call “ordinary.” For one thing, there’s her past which she likes to pretend never happened, and then there’s the fact that she sees ghosts.

Luckily for her, that all comes in handy when she stumbles across Dex Foray, an eccentric producer for an upcoming webcast on ghost hunters. Even though the show’s budget is non-existent and Dex himself is a maddening enigma, Perry is instantly drawn into a world that both threatens her life and seduces her with a sense of importance.

Her uncle’s haunted lighthouse provides the perfect catalyst and backdrop for a horrific mystery that unravels the threads of Perry’s fragile sanity and causes her to fall for a man, who, like the most dangerous of ghosts, may not be all that he seems.

It’s probably a good thing she wrote so many books in this series because damn was this first one slow. I mean, it was so slow my clothes are probably out of style at this moment. Wait. Did we pass Christmas yet?

img_2934

Okay, so I loved the concept of the book and the direction it WANTED to go in. It was weird and eerie and mysterious and I can climb on board with that but that was it. There was nothing promising to me other than what COULD have happened.

But I have to say this: Karina’s writing was on FLEEK. Am I allowed to say that? Oh well, it was. It was so colorful. That is what made this three stars for me. Her writing was so strong in this book. From the descriptions to the metaphors to the prose. It was just splendid.

Sadly, I don’t know any of the characters. They are all still so foreign to me because I feel like they were not covered well enough in Dark House to draw me in or develop that connection I need to have but as the series goes on I hope that they do. I hope more and more things are revealed and unraveled because at this point that’s the only redeeming factor for me and this series. I want to remember Perry and Dex for the rest of my life.

img_2933

Don’t worry Karina we get it. Perry ISN’T like other girls. If we didn’t get it when we started DH I promise by half way through we did.

Dark House lacked in depth and substance. It was very bland and cut and dry. Kind of like a long prequel to what is to come. But I’m onto the next. Look at me, reading a series. They grow up so fast.

img_2935

Leave a Reply

