Paper Princess (Erin Watt)

img_4406

From strip clubs and truck stops to southern coast mansions and prep schools, one girl tries to stay true to herself.

These Royals will ruin you…

Ella Harper is a survivor—a pragmatic optimist. She’s spent her whole life moving from town to town with her flighty mother, struggling to make ends meet and believing that someday she’ll climb out of the gutter. After her mother’s death, Ella is truly alone.

Until Callum Royal appears, plucking Ella out of poverty and tossing her into his posh mansion among his five sons who all hate her. Each Royal boy is more magnetic than the last, but none as captivating as Reed Royal, the boy who is determined to send her back to the slums she came from.

Reed doesn’t want her. He says she doesn’t belong with the Royals.

He might be right.

Wealth. Excess. Deception. It’s like nothing Ella has ever experienced, and if she’s going to survive her time in the Royal palace, she’ll need to learn to issue her own Royal decrees.


Jesus. I just couldn’t stop reading Paper Princess. I was trying REALLY hard to stay afloat last night from all of the angst I had endured. I didn’t want to put this thing down. I just couldn’t. I am still reeling. Last night when I finished I was coming off of the worst adrenaline high I have ever experienced from a book. And it felt so good. And how do I even deal with that ending? That’s easy…I start the second one immediately.

img_4410

It is now the day after and I’m still thinking about Paper Princess and every one in it. Deep breaths, Talon. Okay, let’s chat. Wait hold on, let me pick my jaw up off the floor again before I start. And my panties.

First let me say this: my biggest peeve with series is 99% of the time the first book packs all of the punch. It’s when you first fall in love with the setting and the characters. It’s where everything begins for you but not necessarily ends but everything is so fresh you just feel so good. And then you move on to the rest and you’re missing that “first book feeling”. BUT I have a gut feeling these books just won’t make me feel like that. I think this series will end up giving me one of the biggest book hangovers I have had in years.

img_4413

No matter what was going on in this book I found myself grossly addicted. Maybe not grossly but it couldn’t have been healthy right? When I read a book in one sitting you KNOW it’s good. And dare I say I have a new…guilty pleasure? And it’s got me thinking all kinds of things like, 1) can I be in high school again? 2) wait, but only if it can be like this book, because my high school was FAR from this setting. But a girl can dream. Now that I think about it, did I even stop for a pee break? Did I eat? Did I pay attention to my family? Don’t know. Don’t care.

img_4414

Let’s talk about Ella. And how in love I am with her character. She’s sassy and witty and her no bullshit attitude is what heroine dreams are made of. I actually enjoyed this female POV! All kidding aside, it’s very refreshing to me to read about a girl that I can actually stand. She didn’t annoy me, she wasn’t predictable, and she made me laugh. What was there not to love about her?

And those boys…O M G.

img_4412

Everything just worked for me. The writing, the setting, the characters, the pace. It was all just perfect. Except for the ending. Because WTF, we just got to a huge climax point in the story and you’re just going to take all of that out from underneath my feet? Rude. And that’s saying a lot coming from the girl who is allergic to cliffhangers and series.

I am currently thinking of ways that I can play off being sick so that I can just sit and read the second book. So many books these days are all the same. Actually a majority of them are. So to pick up this book and be blown away just makes me feel so satisfied as a reader.

It’s also just another time that I am glad that I don’t give into hype when books release and I am patient and I don’t have to wait for the next books *smug smile*.

img_4411

I am also just going to take a minute and thank the magical book God’s for delivering us such a book that makes me want to do so many things and feel so many things at once. Amen.

Leave a Reply

