Sweet Nothing (Jamie McGuire & Teresa Mummert)

img_4825

It is enough to break any man: watching what could have been my future slip away before it was ever in my grasp.The possibility of losing someone I loved, before she was even mine, is something I never would have imagined. Certainly nothing I’d ever wish on anyone. I go to her every day and wait. Wait for the impossible, for a sign, for her to look at me . . . hoping that sinners are granted miracles, too. Just one glimpse of him was all it took. In the next lane, at a stop light, was the man I would fall in love with and marry. People talk about the kind of love that takes time, love you fall into. We were more like a crash and burn, and when our lives intertwined I would never be the same. He was the man I would cherish the rest of my life, who would father my children. In an instant our life together began, and in an instant it would end. The late nights; the excuses; the lies. And in the blink of an eye, it was like we never were.


*audiobook

This rating is high for one reason and one reason alone:

I could NOT stop listening to this story. I could not tear myself away from it. I was so INTRIGUED. All of these reviews I have read is so pissed about the ending but the ending was the ultimate plot twist to me. I was more in love with the ending than I was anything else.

Avery. You’re a terrible character. I couldn’t stand you. I want to throw you down a deep, dark, black hole where you belong.

img_4826

The writing. The writing was so not smooth or flowing. I’m a Jamie McGuire fan through and through. So when I noticed she cowrote this, I put it off for a while. A long while. But then I pushed all negative thoughts aside of the co-author and listened to the audiobook. The shiftiness in the writing was just too wacky for me. Back and forth, push and pull. It was all so overwhelming and everything happened so quickly. Choppy and inconsistent would be key words for me.

img_4827

My rating is so high because I liked 80% of the book. I liked everything besides Avery and the writing. The downside? I wish Jamie would have wrote this book herself. Truth.

And I wish I had a paperback copy…hint hint.

Leave a Reply

