He Will Be My Ruin (K. A. Tucker)

img_4913

Twenty-eight-year-old Maggie Sparkes arrives in New York City to pack up what’s left of her best friend’s belongings after a suicide that has left everyone stunned. The police have deemed the evidence conclusive: Celine got into bed, downed a bottle of Xanax and a handle of Maker’s Mark, and never woke up. But when Maggie discovers secrets in the childhood lock box hidden in Celine’s apartment, she begins asking questions. Questions about the man Celine fell in love with. The man she never told anyone about, not even Maggie. The man who Celine herself claimed would be her ruin.

On the hunt for answers that will force the police to reopen the case, Maggie uncovers more than she bargained for about Celine’s private life—and inadvertently puts herself on the radar of a killer who will stop at nothing to keep his crimes undiscovered. 


I’m pretty disappointed to say the least. Mark me down for the most unpopular opinion I guess. What’s new?

img_4915

K. A. always writes such good books with even better stories. I can honestly say I’ve always been a huge fan of her work. But something about He Will Be My Ruin was just off for me. It seemed like it was just a book about secrets and money. Like, really. All that was talked about in this book was M O N E Y. Seriously…we as readers get it. Your characters have money and then we are supposed to pity the one (literally one) character that doesn’t have money.

img_4916

The plot was decent. I mean, it wasn’t original or anything but it wasn’t mind blowing either. I’m not saying it sucked but it definitely fell into some other categories of books and genres I’ve already read about which gets pretty redundant and is a huge reason why I try to branch out whilst reading.

Another thing is, I don’t typically like for my thrillers to be overpowered by romance and that’s what this book was. Maybe it should have been classified as a different type of novel? Nonetheless, I feel like we were only reading about money, sex, and a couple secrets thrown in here and there. Oh! And don’t forget about the cliches and ever so stereotypical characters!

img_4914

The ending was extremely unsatisfying to me. I don’t understand why an epilogue would end like that UNLESS you plan on following up with it. To me it is a sloppy way to end a book. But, moving on!

Leave a Reply

