Making Faces (Amy Harmon)

img_5521

Ambrose Young was beautiful. He was tall and muscular, with hair that touched his shoulders and eyes that burned right through you. The kind of beautiful that graced the covers of romance novels, and Fern Taylor would know. She’d been reading them since she was thirteen. But maybe because he was so beautiful he was never someone Fern thought she could have…until he wasn’t beautiful anymore.

Making Faces is the story of a small town where five young men go off to war, and only one comes back. It is the story of loss. Collective loss, individual loss, loss of beauty, loss of life, loss of identity. It is the tale of one girl’s love for a broken boy, and a wounded warrior’s love for an unremarkable girl. This is a story of friendship that overcomes heartache, heroism that defies the common definitions, and a modern tale of Beauty and the Beast where we discover that there is little beauty and a little beast in all of us.

I’m late to the party but it’s better to be late than to never have arrived there. Let’s chat about Making Faces, my favorite read of 2017 thus far. It’s Amy Harmon. Of course I’m going to five star it. And let me tell you why:

HER WRITING. Her writing is better than yours and yours and yours. I don’t care what any of y’all say. Every one take notes because Amy Harmon takes being an author to a whole different level.

img_5519

Let’s focus on another great thing about Making Faces that makes it five stars (maybe six) for me, of all people (shocker, I know). Amy’s secondary characters. Okay, so basically Bailey. Although all of the characters played a huge role in Making Faces, Bailey was incredible. He made my heart sing and hurt at the same time. He made me appreciate what is good in my life. He just…made me feel. It was uncomfortable but I needed it.

“And so we endure. We have faith that there is purpose. We hope for things we can’t see. We believe that there are lessons in loss, power in love, and that we have within us the potential for a beauty so magnificent that our bodies can’t contain it.”

I do feel like this book is highly mis-genred though. Is that a word? Oh well, I just made it one. Although romance is a strong plot line in Making Faces, it doesn’t center around it. It centers around acceptance, peace, healing. All of the things we are looking for within ourselves.

“And if you’ll have me, I will spend the rest of my life trying to make you happy, and when you get tired of looking at me, I promise I’ll sing.”

The setting of Making Faces was brilliant. The premise of the book was brilliant. The flashbacks were brilliant. The flow was brilliant. Whatever, Amy is just brilliant.

img_5520

Amy Harmon is not just an author or a writer. She is a magical story teller. She was born to play the strings on my heart like it’s second nature to her.

Leave a Reply

