Figure Eight (Calia Read)

IMG_6086

Dear Selah,
Do you remember me?
Of course you don’t. So I’m going to give you a refresher course.
I’ve known you for years and years. We used to have beautiful conversations. There was no one that knew you better than me. We were handmade for each other.
Lately, it’s become achingly obvious you’re miserable. You’ve moved back home to take care of your ailing mother. You’ve been looking for a new job, but that’s not going well. Admit it: it’s all too much.
Everyone around you sees your suffering, but they’re not willing to help you.
Everyone but Jackson.
He comes into your life at the perfect moment and offers you everything you could want: a shoulder to lean on, love, and most importantly, hope.
But there’s no one that can compare to me. You seem to forget that I’m your figure 8. Your infinity. You try to run, but I will always find you.
Yours Truly,
Figure 8

She did it. Calia did it again. She got me. This girl got me all shook up right to my core. She got me moved in and situated into my nice, new cozy corner, rocking away very nervously. She even supplied me the cozy straight jacket and blindfold.

IMG_6237

“The truth is a powerful thing. When it’s suppressed for such a long time and then suddenly set free, it doesn’t come quietly; it attacks you from the inside out, forcing you to feel every last lie and deception you were holding onto. No matter how painful is is.”

Calia’s writing is something all of us as readers can agree on. Whether it’s Unravel or one of her Sloan Brothers book, this girl has got it going on. So, to say I am surprised with the way Figure 8 was written would be a lie because let’s face it: I’m not.

IMG_6235

I expected it. But it isn’t just impeccable writing that is in Figure Eight. No, no, no, that would be way too easy for Calia. It’s chilling, eerie, and suspenseful. There were times where I was so creeped out I put the book down because I had goose bumps on my neck and then there were times where my breathing was deep and fast that I had to get myself together because no one likes a hot mess. Figure Eight was just an intense read but that’s putting it lightly. Very lightly.

Figure Eight included so many twists and turns that I legitimately had no idea what was going to happen next. Basically, I can’t tell you anything about the actual book, story line, etc. I can say that the characters are not what you think. Their lives are not what you think. Nothing is really what you think, don’t even bother. Just…let it happen. Let the book happen and enjoy it. With Calia’s books the best thing that you can do is go in blind. Absorb everything she has written out so neatly and tidy for you. It all adds up, I promise you it does.

IMG_6236

If anyone can give you heart palpitations and wrong guesses and insane theories that drive you crazy at night it’s Calia Read. I even got emotional because what Calia is trying to portray to us within this book is beautiful and broken all at the same time. It’s real and it’s raw. Make sure you have something to drink in your corner, you’ll get thirsty.

“You deserve light. The brightest colors out there. Your mouth needs to smile and laughter needs to spill out. Your hollow brown eyes need to be filled with hope and the promise of tomorrow. No matter how many times I try to tell you that, you’re slowly breaking apart. Everyone around you sees your suffering, but they’re not willing to help you.”

Leave a Reply

