Behind Her Eyes (Sarah Pinborough)

IMG_6456

Louise is a single mom, a secretary, stuck in a modern-day rut. On a rare night out, she meets a man in a bar and sparks fly. Though he leaves after they kiss, she’s thrilled she finally connected with someone.

When Louise arrives at work on Monday, she meets her new boss, David. The man from the bar. The very married man from the bar…who says the kiss was a terrible mistake but who still can’t keep his eyes off Louise.

And then Louise bumps into Adele, who’s new to town and in need of a friend, but she also just happens to be married to David. David and Adele look like the picture-perfect husband and wife, but then why is David so controlling, and why is Adele so scared of him?

As Louise is drawn into David and Adele’s orbit, she uncovers more puzzling questions than answers. The only thing that is crystal clear is that something in this marriage is very, very wrong, but Louise can’t guess how wrong―and how far a person might go to protect their marriage’s secrets.

I am impressed. That is what I am going to say right now. I am impressed with this book because I didn’t see it coming in any way, shape, or form (LITERALLY) but I’m still just baffled because…what the hell? I mean, really? That’s what your “hashtag hype” was about? No wonder no one guesses the ending, how unpredictable.

IMG_6457

I didn’t four star this book because of the ending though (unlike most people). No, I four starred this book because of two things:

The writing and the revelations and yearnings I discovered along the way.

Like with Adele, for instance. What an incredible and unreliable character. and the breadcrumbs I followed to get to the core of her was FANTASTIC! She is the kind of character that I love to read about. I mean really. She fascinated me to no prevail. Every chapter of hers was laced with mystery that I just wanted to grab for myself. With the help of the authors suspenseful writing I was easily distracted and lost in Adele and the things that occurred with her or while being in her POV at the time.

IMG_6458

The writing was neat because I felt like I was actually Louise. I wanted to dig deeper and deeper into Adele and David’s marriage that I could barely stand it. Granted, in the beginning on the book there were so many plot holes I just thought to myself “there is NO way this author can patch all of these up” but alas, they did.

The ending didn’t necessarily shock me because it just seemed so unrealistic. Hard for me to grasp and hold onto. But the way these characters are portrayed and the way the story is laid out for us gave me a great read, no doubt about it. To me, the book didn’t stay true to its genre but other than that it was a fantastic read all around. I can appreciate a good book when I read one.

IMG_6459

Leave a Reply

