The Gravity of Us by Brittainy Cherry

IMG_6992

Graham Russell and I weren’t made for one another.

I was driven by emotion; he was apathetic. I dreamed while he lived in nightmares. I cried when he had no tears to shed.

Despite his frozen heart and my readiness to run, we sometimes shared seconds. Seconds when our eyes locked and we saw each other’s secrets. Seconds when his lips tasted my fears, and I breathed in his pains. Seconds when we both imagined what it would be like to love one another.

Those seconds left us floating, but when reality knocked us sideways, gravity forced us to descend.

Graham Russell wasn’t a man who knew how to love, and I wasn’t a woman who knew how to either. Yet if I had the chance to fall again, I’d fall with him forever.

Even if we were destined to crash against solid ground. 

I can’t even right now. I just can’t even with Brittainy Cherry and I am just really disgusted with how well she writes and just so full of feelings as I sit here and relish in yet another story that makes me feel the things I want to feel while reading a book. I’m serious, it’s gross. Every time she puts something new out I get like this. Itchy with emotions and a hope for life within me that could fill up the state of Texas.

IMG_6993

It’s a craft to her that comes so easily unlike anything else I have seen or read in this world. This book (along with her others) are wonderful books to pick up and sit down and devour in one setting. No pee breaks, no food, no responsibilities, nothing. Gone. Out the door!

I feel like all this review needs to be is me going on and on about how great of a writer Brittainy is but isn’t that what all of my Brittainy Cherry reviews consist of? Let’s try something new this time!

“You love so loudly that even the darkest souls can find some kind of light from your smile.”

IMG_6995

Her characters. Let’s talk about them. Graham works for me because of the way he is structured and because of his growth throughout the entire story. The fact that you can see the change within him and the strength in himself grow more and more is just so incredible and it says a lot about Brittainy and her writing and storytelling. Lucy is a fantastic character. Her integrity is the type that I look for in all female characters. We all need to have a Lucille around us at all times. Another fun thing about Brittainy and her books is she constructs such great secondary characters. Any of them could be picked up for their own book and I would read it frontwards and backwards. Mark Brittainy down for another positive trait. (see, disgusting…right?)

Her writing. It’s incredible. Enough said, let’s move along because I know we’ve covered this multiple times before.

IMG_6994

Her covers. This woman has a knack for this sort of thing. The incorporation they play into the book and the series are just impressive. And I am not even talking about her element series. I am talking about her other books she has out that YOU should have already read. Tisk tisk on you if you haven’t.

I think I am done now. I apologize. I just have all of these things flowing from me that needs to be put into words. The fact that an author can write pages and pages of words that evoke emotions out of you that you don’t feel on a daily basis blows my mind. And Brittainy does it every time and The Gravity of Us is no different. So go forth, grab the book, and get itchy with feelings because I can promise you it will happen.

Leave a Reply

