Thirteen Reasons Why (Jay Asher)

2813153

You can’t stop the future. You can’t rewind the past. The only way to learn the secret. . . is to press play.

Clay Jensen doesn’t want anything to do with the tapes Hannah Baker made. Hannah is dead. Her secrets should be buried with her.

Then Hannah’s voice tells Clay that his name is on her tapes– and that he is, in some way, responsible for her death.

All through the night, Clay keeps listening. He follows Hannah’s recorded words throughout his small town. . .

. . .and what he discovers changes his life forever.


Right now, I am happy. I am actually very happy that I chose to watch the Netflix show first. I am happy because there are some things I really liked more in the show than I did in the book and vice versa. Example: I liked Hannah in the book, I didn’t like Hannah in the show. I loved Alex in the show, the book didn’t give me enough Alex.

Image result for 13 reasons why gif

Let’s begin, shall we?

“ If you hear a song that makes you cry and you don’t want to cry anymore, you don’t listen to that song anymore.
But you can’t get away from yourself. You can’t decide not to see yourself anymore. You can’t decide to turn off the noise in your head.”

The book for Thirteen Reasons Why captured this feeling of “alone” so well for me. It put things into perspective for me a lot better than what the show did. The book encompassed me as a reader and made me much more sympathetic to Hannah as opposed to how the show made me feel about her. (That is a whole different story).

Image result for 13 reasons why gif

I’m going to be completely honest for a second and say that when I read (or listened to, rather) this book, it was like hearing the story for the first time. There were no visuals from the TV show playing in my head. It was all fresh for me. And that’s pretty damn cool. Especially when you read the book AFTER you watch the movie/show.

So what I really liked most about this book was the intriguing story development and progress. The fact that the heroine time-lined her death and put the reasons behind her suicide through tape recordings which she then sent to people she blamed for her suicide are reasons enough for me to read this book. I’m a nosey person, I like to know all of the things. But at the same time, the guilt of the tapes weigh so heavy on me. For Clay and Mr. Porter. I feel their guilt and blame and it’s an intense feeling, one that I haven’t been able to justify yet.

I do love the way the author intertwined the POV’s and made us feel things from two different people at once. I really just love the character work all around. All of the characters showed dynamics that were insanely complex and I like that. Dull characters are no fun.

Image result for 13 reasons why gif

I know that you will love this book. You will love it and you won’t even be able to help it. You will feel what Clay feels as a whole and you will also experience the highs and lows of Hannah’s life right along with her. Much more so in the book.

Thank you, Hannah Baker.

Leave a Reply

