Dark Notes (Pam Godwin)

IMG_8616

They call me a slut. Maybe I am.
Sometimes I do things I despise.
Sometimes men take without asking.

But I have a musical gift, only a year left of high school, and a plan.
With one obstacle.

Emeric Marceaux doesn’t just take.
He seizes my will power and bangs it like a dark note.
When he commands me to play, I want to give him everything.
I kneel for his punishments, tremble for his touch, and risk it all for our stolen moments.

He’s my obsession, my master, my music.
And my teacher. 

I enjoyed this book for the most part. Mainly because of the student/teacher relationship. However, that relationship just wasn’t solid enough for me. It was rushed and sloppy and there was zero connection from the get go. Together, I didn’t care for Emeric and Ivory but separately they were two dominant and strong characters. When they were together they were boring.

IMG_8618

I just didn’t love it as much as I thought I would. And that’s frustrating for me. It started out so strong but then just kind of fell in all of the wrong places at all of the wrong times. Not to mention the usual “student/teacher” angst was dull and the “OMG” moment came all too soon for my liking.

IMG_8617

I did, however enjoy the ending. I feel like Pam ended the book on such a strong point that the story definitely needed.

This was a book where I was more in tune with the characters than I was the plot. The plot was terrible. Dark Notes is chalk full of cliches and sex but the writing and characters structured together made for a decent read that all in all I was satisfied with.

Leave a Reply

