Puddle Jumping (Amber Johnson)

IMG_9429

When it comes to love there’s no such thing as conventional.

Everyone thinks Colton Neely is special.

Lilly Evans just thinks he’s fascinating.

Once friends when they were younger, their bond is cut short due to her accident prone nature and they go their separate ways. Years later, they meet again and Lilly learns that there is something special about the boy she once knew, but she has no idea what it all means. And she’s not sure if she’s ready to find out.

When he walks through the corridor of her school the first day of her senior year, she knows that it’s time to get to know the real Colton Neely. The more she learns, the deeper she falls.

Their friendship grows into love, even as Colton does not express it in words. But one decision threatens to break down the world that Lilly has tried so hard to integrate into and she must figure out if the relationship can survive if they are apart. 

All of my feelings are gone and out the door. I read this book in one sitting. I didn’t go pee. Or eat. I DEVOURED this book. For so many reasons. Here, let me show you why with just ONE paragraph from Puddle Jumping:

“I don’t believe there’s such a thing as conventional love. Love is bending. Love is breaking. Love is constantly learning about the other person until you go crazy because it will never be perfect, but there’s no fault in trying. I’ve loved a boy who was extraordinary beyond words, in my eyes. I don’t think I’d ever wanted to live an exceptional life before him. A life filled with color and knowledge and feeling beautiful.”

IMG_9433

That is why. Right there. Because Amber Johnson wrote a very overwhelming story about a boy and a girl and it wasn’t your typical boy and girl book. It was so much more than that. It was what we need as readers. It was what we go out and actively search for. Because sometimes we need to pick up a book that makes us feel what we don’t normally feel and understand people we don’t usually encounter.

IMG_9434

Everything about this book enveloped me into this tight ball of emotions and just left me clinging to every single word this author was writing. The cover and the significance of it all and the way it all ties together and Jesus H Christ I can’t even..

Lilly and her patience and kind heart and Colton and his…I can’t even tell you because I don’t want you to know. I could go on and on. But they’re both the most extraordinary characters I have ever read about. Colton might be special to every one else but Lilly was just as special if not more. Two special people I will hold near and dear to my heart.

You know what, read this book. I’ll shut up, just go read the book.

Leave a Reply

