Until it Fades (KA Tucker)

IMG_9719

Twenty-four-year-old truck stop waitress and single mother Catherine Wright has simple goals: to give her five-year-old daughter a happy life and to never again be the talk of the town in Balsam, Pennsylvania: population two thousand outside of tourist season.

And then one foggy night, on a lonely road back from another failed attempt at a relationship, Catherine saves a man’s life. It isn’t until after the police have arrived that Catherine realizes exactly who it is she has saved: Brett Madden, hockey icon and media darling.

Catherine has already had her fifteen minutes of fame and the last thing she wants is to have her past dragged back into the spotlight, only this time on a national stage. So she hides her identity. It works.

For a time.

But when she finds the man she saved standing on her doorstep, desperate to thank her, all that changes. What begins as an immediate friendship quickly turns into something neither of them expected. Something that Catherine isn’t sure she can handle; something that Catherine is afraid to trust.

Because how long can an extraordinary man like Brett be interested in an ordinary woman like Catherine…before the spark fades? 

I have no words. I haven’t had a book hit me in the feels like this from KA Tucker since Ten Tiny Breaths. That’s not me saying her others weren’t good, they were. But this one packed the punch! This was hands down THE BEST slow burn I have read of 2017 thus far. Get that insta love crap out of here because KA has brought it with Until it Fades.

IMG_9720

Brett’s characteristics really stick out to me. He brought this book full circle for me. His involvement in Catherine and Brenna’s life was absolutely incredible to me. Very realistic and mind opening to me as well. Especially that he embraced them both for who they were with no questions asked. He was just an all around great character.

I also want to talk about the dialogue and conversations between the characters. They were all written so diligently and it wasn’t just used as “fillers” within the book. They actually had MEANING, can you believe it? The character interaction basically flowed off of the pages right into my face. That’s the good stuff right there.

IMG_9721

Secondary characters are a huge plus for me in all books that I read and KA absolutely delivers! I can’t pick just one, they all brought a smile to my face at some point in the book. Especially Lou. And Jack. And Keith. SEE! I can’t pick just one.

I’m recommending this to every one. I can’t think of a single person who wouldn’t appreciate this story and fall in love with these characters. And if I find that person they should find a new hobby besides reading.

Leave a Reply

