The Butterfly Garden (Dot Hutchison)

IMG_0008

Near an isolated mansion lies a beautiful garden.

In this garden grow luscious flowers, shady trees…and a collection of precious “butterflies”—young women who have been kidnapped and intricately tattooed to resemble their namesakes. Overseeing it all is the Gardener, a brutal, twisted man obsessed with capturing and preserving his lovely specimens.

When the garden is discovered, a survivor is brought in for questioning. FBI agents Victor Hanoverian and Brandon Eddison are tasked with piecing together one of the most stomach-churning cases of their careers. But the girl, known only as Maya, proves to be a puzzle herself.

As her story twists and turns, slowly shedding light on life in the Butterfly Garden, Maya reveals old grudges, new saviors, and horrific tales of a man who’d go to any length to hold beauty captive. But the more she shares, the more the agents have to wonder what she’s still hiding…

YIKES. Talk about a crappy ending. And that’s putting it lightly. It kind of makes me want to take back all of the time I spent reading this book. And when I sit down and ponder, one word comes to mind:

IMG_0010

A N T I – C L I M A C T I C

The Butterfly Garden started out so poetically and well written. The author took it’s time with the construction of the story line and details surrounding the book and as a reader I appreciated that. But what the hell…did the author just sit down and let their 7 year old child write the ending? Ugh. What happened? Did they get bored?

IMG_0009

The book had great detail but I still struggled with picturing how the garden looked. I mean…WHAT exactly was it? Someone probably needs to draw me a pretty picture. I’m slow.

I just…the writing was superb. It was really well done. But I wouldn’t consider this a thriller. At all. I honestly don’t know what I would consider it. A bed time story? A story a person tells when they’re bored? I don’t know, either way…the ending was rushed, sloppy, and not delivered in a way that I was happy with.

Leave a Reply

